The Novels That Shaped our World

The Novels That Shaped Our World is a year-long project that asks the public in Great Britain and beyond to debate a selection of 100 novels that have impacted upon the nation since Robinson Crusoe. The 100 novels were chosen by a panel consisting of journalist and broadcaster Mariella Frostrup; bestselling author, screenwriter and columnist Juno Dawson; writer Kit de Waal; journalist, BBC Radio 4 Front Row presenter and editor of The Times Literary Supplement Stig Abell; and author Alexander McCall Smith

The centrepiece of the season will be the three-part BBC Two series, The Novels That Shaped Our World. The series will examine the novel from three unique perspectives: Empire and slaverywomen’s voices and working class experiences

The 100 novels are presented in ten themed categories, explored on the BBC site here.